shopping cart empty
[dismiss] Kung Hei Fat Choy. FastTech will be on holiday from January 20, 2020, to January 31, 2020. Shipping and support will resume normal service on February 1, 2020. (details)
Product Reviews
WORLDWIDE FREE SHIPPING


Sort:
Ceremony
Member
  • JoinedJul 2013
  • Posts 42
  • Reviews 9
  • Kudos13
Overall   (4.7)
› Quality
› Value
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
PROS
Very bright Well-spaced brightness steps 3 or 5 mode selection (memory) Springs for flattop batteries Great center throw and area coverage balance Great overall design and finish Lower power indication
CONS
Too hot on the long run at maximum brightness Flimsy arm strap
Design:
The flashlight is very small and appears a bit darker than in the picture, which makes it look even better.
The strap on the other hand is rather flimsy, as it is your standard arm carry thingy. It works, but will loose integrity when using it regularly. I put my trust in steel and thick materials and I recommend you do the same.
Also, since its circular with no flat area, you should always place it on the battery door to avoid it falling off the table or something.
Nevertheless, perfect for EDC!

Light:
The brightness steps are very well spaced, making each mode very useful.
On high however, the temperature will climb quickly and easily reach 60°C/140°F or more, making carrying it a painful experience at that point. It is intended for short burst or maybe winter. Medium however will stay below 45°C/113°C, getting you sweaty palms at best. Low will remain cool with no noticeable increase in temperature. Bright is super bright, low is not too low to be useless and medium is the best of both worlds. Just great!
Testing has been done with little to no wind (outside in summer at 27°C/80°F at night) with the flashlight being placed on a pedestal, so overall temps in the hand should be slightly lower thanks to your built-in watercooling veins.
While testing, I noticed a drop in brightness as the battery discharged. It's not too bad, but certainly noticeable.
The overall beam shape is very nice. The center is nice and bright and the surrounding area is sufficiently bright. Great balance overall, even at low settings.

Features/Extras/Technical stuff:
3/5 mode selection is very handy if you don't like/need the fast strobe and SOS modes.
The reflector emits, or rather, reflects a green glow after recent use.
The flashlight accepts both protected cells and flat top (unprotected) 18650 cells thanks to its springs.
Once the battery is getting low (insufficient for the current mode), the flashlight turns to low power mode and starts blinking. With an old unprotected Samsung ICR18650-22F 2200mAh (manufactured in 2009), this occurred at 3.11V (high), 2.85V (medium) and 2.73 (low). I continued continued till 2.5V to check for a discharge limit: There isn't one, but the blinking will do just as well!

Summary:
Overall, this is more than one can wish for. The pricetag makes this an incomparable flashlight, delivering the greatest bang for your buck out there!
Reviewed on Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
jimmm23
Member

VERIFIED OWNER
  • JoinedDec 2012
  • Posts 2
  • Reviews 1
  • Kudos0
Overall   (5.0)
› Quality
› Value
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
PROS
Incredible build quality, feels good in the hand. Perfectly centered LED Mode group switching is easy. Easily worth twice the money, Buy One!
CONS
None.
What a great light, this is going to now be my every day carry.
I love how you can order how much power you want and what tint you want.
I got the U2 version with full power at 2.8 amps. It will get hot on high, but I knew that going in and I usually run medium or low, high is just to show off :)
Can't find a flaw in the finish. Nice beefy tailcap with brass colored button.
I put a Protected Keeppower 18650 battery in it and it fits fine.
Everyone is talking about these great Convoy flashlights on BudgetLightForum, so I had to get one and am very glad I did.
Received it to the USA in only 2 weeks. Tracking worked very well.
Thanks FastTech!
Reviewed on Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
oldman777
Member
  • JoinedJul 2013
  • Posts 56
  • Reviews 4
  • Kudos9
Overall   (5.0)
› Quality
› Value
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
PROS
Very Bright for a small flashlight. Very good 2-Group 3/5-Mode driver.
CONS
None
Easy to put in jacket pocket or in back pocket of jeans. Great light, unbeatable for the price!
A nice compact flashlight that has good light output and a diffuse beam.
Does not require the protected battery. Blinks when the battery 3V discharge.
Only positive impressions. I guess the best flashlight for my first purchase or Best Flashlight EDC.
Reviewed on Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
j4rek
Member
  • JoinedJan 2013
  • Posts 3
  • Reviews 1
  • Kudos0
Overall   (5.0)
› Quality
› Value
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
PROS
Great build quality, anodized thread, bright as hell, easy programming with USBasp.
CONS
Only factory modes are not perfect for me.
105c with ATtiny13A inside, so You can program with luxdrv(DrJones), or BLF_VLD(Tido) using USBasp and get perfect modes! Highly recommended! Now i have perfect EDC.
Reviewed on Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
andreasp
Member
  • JoinedDec 2012
  • Posts 2
  • Reviews 1
  • Kudos0
Overall   (5.0)
› Quality
› Value
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
PROS
Very Bright for a small light , Well made, good CNC , perfect anodizing ,deep Reflector for this size of flashlight/centered led /glass is clean also , I received it in a carton box and babble-wrap with no blemishes on anodizing!! Also comes with a quality led driver , Very good 3-5 mode driver for those who are boring strobe mode they can disable it!
CONS
None
i order it because of the small size and the good driver .. when receive it i was surprised by the built quality ,no blemishes on anodizing.
the led drivers is very nice with the option of 3 or 5 modes for those that they don't need the strobe mode (annoying mode lol) they can disable it ( just set it on lowest mode and when you see a blink half press of the button for 3 seconds and that's it you have just switch between modes.

the flashlight come with a small battery magnet for shorter batteries (great job Fasttech for this)thanks

the amount of light you get for so small light is perfect thanks to the xm-l U2 and the 2.8amps of driver (don't let more than couple of minutes on high mode to avoid overheating )


HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Reviewed on Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
cvader
Member

VERIFIED OWNER
  • JoinedAug 2014
  • Posts 0
  • Reviews 137
  • Kudos0
Overall   (5.0)
› Quality
› Value
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Works well and is very bright. Great quality and value.
Reviewed on Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Avatar
sirlance207
Member

VERIFIED OWNER
  • JoinedMay 2014
  • Posts 569
  • Reviews 201
  • Kudos420
Overall   (4.5)
› Quality
› Value
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
PROS
Great Compact bright light Low batter warning..
CONS
It can get a little hot
I purchased a few lights; 1 Convoy C8 SKU 1272100, 3 Convoy S2 SKU 1195010 ( 1 for son and another on the way for someone who saw mine) and on there way soon 2 UltraFire WF-501B 1*Cree XM-L2 T6 SKU 1626602 (one for my son). We each got a Nitecore I2/ SKU 1327201 with ac&dc cords and a few Panasonic 18650 3400mah. I also purchased a few; Beam Light Diffuser for LED 20-25mm flashlights / SKU 1140010 These work GREAT! I use it on the S2 all the time. Out in the tool shed and the woodshed I hang it by the wrist string on a nail or hook, turned on medium, it lights well enough for what I need. High is really bright and not really needed.

We loose power quite often here in the Maine country side and we had 2 outages in the last week, one over 2 hours long one over 4 and both at night. Instead of all the oil lamps we normally use, we used mostly the S2 and the C8 for light this time for a good test.

I hung the S2 with diffuser from the beam in the living room on med for 3+ hours. It got warm but didn’t get hot. It was also used around the house on H/M/L for over an hour. Discharge was about ¼ battery life (according to VamoV5).

We used approximately just over ½ the battery life on the C8 in just over 4 hours. We used it a lot on high. I placed it in a mason jar pointing up at the white ceiling at the end of the kitchen table and we were able to read, play cards and so on. On high I think it was brighter than the 4 recessed lights in the dining room ceiling, and on medium brighter than the light over the table (3 small flame shaped 40w’s). I left the C8 in the jar pointing up on high for well over an hour and it wasn’t hot at all. Then a couple hours on medium. After that we played with it in the yard, switching through modes and seeing how much it really lit things up. Impressive! Actually out shines some car headlights. Lit up 4 deer grazing in front of my driveway sensor from 150 feet away like daylight. Eyes glowing so bright all frozen. Shut off light couldn’t see them at all. Turned back on within seconds and they were gone LOL.

Overall I think both the C8&S2 are great lights. You could use either [b]one[/b] of these on a motor vehicle with no lights and drive home on the darkest of nights (we tried it). Camp on I cliff or a bluff somewhere, take the S2 hang it in your tent with the diffuser on it, turn on high or strobe, and people miles away will think they are seeing a UFO.. LMAO.
Having 2 of these lights, I figure six batteries can go a long way. With the 12 volt/car charger it could go even longer. Add a solar charger and you would never be in the dark.

We also purchased 2 Ultrafire Nylon Flashlight Holsters SKU 1409110. It works well with all 3 lights and clip rotates 360 degrees locking every 90. And three Nylon Holster SKU 1762902. These work well with S2. If your going to use the extra battery holder this will help hold it in: Protective Silicone Case for 18650 Battery
SKU 1706403

[b]Cons/improvements [/b]
The scallops on the C8 should be a 3/16 to ¼ inch longer /deeper. This would give more light when set down on lens/head, protect lens better, and make it a better defensive weapon/window breaker for GF in the car. Could do with out strobes and SOS..
As for the “glow in the dark” Well as with most silicone/plastic glow in the dark items they need light to charge, so don’t be expecting to find them glowing after they have been in your drawer, toolbox, bag, trunk, etc, for a day. Could do without them.
Reviewed on Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
h0y0ung
Member

VERIFIED OWNER
  • JoinedAug 2013
  • Posts 52
  • Reviews 44
  • Kudos16
Overall   (5.0)
› Quality
› Value
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
PROS
Compact size Light Weight Good finish Good with Protected battery
CONS
The internals needed to be cleaned and tightened to work properly out of the box. The "glow in the dark" tail cap doesn't really work.
First, the light was acting up right out of the box, i thought it was weird so I gave it few taps and it did fix the problem but sounded like it didn't have a good connection inside. All I needed was a good pair of needle nose pliers to take it all apart and cleaned all the contacts with alcohol pad and put back together firmly. after that, it was solid. So if yours doesn't work right out of the box, don't panic, take it apart and give it a good cleaning(this took maximum 5 mins to take apart and clean and put back together).

Now, the actual workings of the light it self is great. It does get rather warm to the touch on the head portion, but I think that is a fair trade off considering how much light I am able to get out of this light. I do like the fact that there are two modes to this light, the strobe/SOS feature is nice to have, and it's not difficult to get into those modes at all. I use mine in 3 modes(with out the strobe and SOS)

Some people are saying this doesn't have memory feature, but it does even with battery change. You just have to be in the mode for more than 2 seconds before you shut it off.

The "glow in the dark" tail cap doesn't really work. I had it shined directly with my other LED flash light and it barely lit up. under normal conditions, it wouldn't work so well so I'd rather have black rubber cap instead of the green.

Over all, I'm happy with this flash light and I've already got few people interested in them, only downside to most people was the fact that it used 18650 battery(which they had no idea of) and they needed to spend extra $20+ on 18650 battery and good charger.

I would buy again.
Reviewed on Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
hash77
Member

VERIFIED OWNER
  • JoinedJul 2013
  • Posts 1
  • Reviews 10
  • Kudos1
Overall   (5.0)
› Quality
› Value
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
PROS
Solid, compact, well made, bright
CONS
Took a little while to figure out the modes.
This is the best flashlight I've got. It isn't the most expensive, it isn't the brightest (although it is very powerful), it isn't the smallest, it isn't the cheapest, but all together, it's the best. I've heard good things about Convoy, but I was blown away at how much you get for the price. It's compact enough to carry 24/7 and bright enough to leave my $70.00 F...x in the car. I am on call and use it a lot. I have 2 batteries and I've never run out of light. It is so nicely made that it's clear the people who made this are proud of their work. I wish everything was as good as this flashlight.
Reviewed on Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
CptnYehy0
Member

VERIFIED OWNER
  • JoinedMar 2013
  • Posts 60
  • Reviews 512
  • Kudos10
Overall   (5.0)
› Quality
› Value
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
PROS
Compact for an 18650 BRIGHT 5/3 mode settings
CONS
No memory, so you have to cycle through all the settings to get back to high brightness No telescoping zoom Gets HOT
This is the goto flashlight in my garage / workshop. I also have one in my bedroom next to my bed incase the power goes out.
Reviewed on Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No