Free shipping to the United States when you order $20+

Gasket issues
Login to post a new topic and to write a reply.

Search within thread:

Rate This Thread
Login to rate this thread.
#1 (permalink)      6/6/2022 8:30:58 AM US Central   quote/reply + tips
Torkpork
Verified
  • JoinedMar 2015
  • Posts 35
  • Reviews 0
  • Kudos13
Gasket issues
I'm relatively new to boro tanks, most things I have used previously are self-contained(qbix, alien, vessel), so I don't know if I'm missing something obvious.

i can't get the glass to slide up without the gasket becoming very distorted and popping out with huge kinks. This is with white that was already fitted and with the red spare. No amount of lubrication with VG helps.

I realised I had a "stock" boro that came with a sxk billet box and I messed around with that, the difference is night and day.

#2 (permalink)      6/6/2022 9:14:03 AM US Central   quote/reply + tips
njrmayo
Verified
  • JoinedSep 2020
  • Posts 296
  • Reviews 1
  • Kudos113
Ugh, that's no good at all. This is my main gripe with stock boro tanks, but the stock SXK one has given me no issues with the stock gasket or the black replacement BB gasket I bought from BilliBilli. So no matter what you do, with the glass off, you can't get that gasket to sit flat and nice, then lube up the top of it before sliding the glass on?

Edited on 6/6/2022 at 9:14 AM
#3 (permalink)      6/6/2022 10:08:49 AM US Central   quote/reply + tips
Torkpork
Verified
  • JoinedMar 2015
  • Posts 35
  • Reviews 0
  • Kudos13
I can get the gaskets to look like they are seated really well. I went around them with a hook/pick and a magnifier, plenty of lubrication. As soon as the glass gets roughly halfway the problems start. Using a pick and inching the glass up, trying to get the gasket to stay flat/seated is the best I could manage and shown in the pictures. Without all the effort, I can't get the glass anywhere close to the top.